top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Slater

22 Weeks: Shape Change and Weekly Routine


Today, I am 22 weeks, 3 days pregnant with my second set of twins. My energy is still great but spending the whole day on my feet is much less comfortable than it was just two weeks ago. I have a diastasis recti from my first pregnancy with the boys. I am working with a fantastic women’s health physical therapist and taking advantage of my own training background to protect my core and pelvic floor. In future posts we will explore the importance of screening for diastasis recti before, during and after pregnancy. I also look forward to sharing training strategies during pregnancy if you have a diastasis.

Shape Change…and a rant

Some of the comments from other adults at work regarding my “shape change” have been in hindsight, quite humorous. Here is a sampling:

  1. “My gosh, how much weight in pounds have you gained?”

  2. “Wow, you really are growing fast!”

  3. “You did not get this big with the boys, did you?”

  4. “Wow you really are getting big!”

  5. Perhaps my favorite…”Wow, you really look different today, you look so pretty. Wearing your hair straight actually makes your face look thin.”

Ladies, those of you who are pregnant or have been pregnant, you understand that the above comments are…a bit invasive and not necessary. Why do adults feel the need to share their feelings about my shape? In what way could their comments benefit me? In what other instance is it appropriate for one adult to make comments to another adult regarding the shape of their body?

Ahhh…thank you. I feel much better now.

Weekly routine


My weekly routine is generally the same each week.

Monday: I wake at 4:15 and work with my Pelvicore with movements specific for my core and pelvic floor for 45 minutes. Then I perform a 30-40 minute movement circuit using the TRX, ViPR, bands and bodyweight. I work the midday shift and then go for a 45-60 min walk after work. I usually unload my bone broth on Monday nights.

Tuesday: I wake at 4:15 and go swimming. I swim from 5:20 to 6:30. When I arrive home, I prepare breakfast, make the boys lunch and preschool snack. I clean up the kitchen, brush teeth and pack up for school. I also clean the house before we leave at 8:45. After dropping the boys off at school, I go to a local nature park to walk fro 75 minutes. I run a few quick errands and pick the boys up from school at 12:30. After lunch, while the boys nap, I either study or do research for the blog. After nap, we ride out to Hilltop Farms where we pick up our weekly CSA vegetable box. When we arrive home, the boys help me unload our box, clean the vegetables and store them for the week. After dinner, we go for a walk to wrap up the day.

Wednesday: I wake at 4:15 and perform the same workout sequence as Monday with a different circuit. The boys usually get up early and work out with me until it is time for breakfast. We eat breakfast, do any necessary food prep for dinner, prepare lunch and pack a trail snack. We usually leave home at 9:15 and head out to a local nature park. We hike for about 90 minutes which includes a lot of running (the boys) back and forth collecting things from the forest floor. After a few errands, we eat lunch, and the boys go down for their nap. Every other Wednesday we go to the library to update our books. Otherwise, Wednesday afternoon usually involves a lot of cooking while the boys play in the back yard. After dinner we wrap up our day with an evening walk.

Thursday: I wake up at 4:15 and follow the same routine as Monday with swimming instead of home exercise.

Friday: I wake up at 4:15 and follow the same routine as Monday. Sometimes I work on Friday and sometimes I have off because I worked on the weekend. If I have off, usually I run errands and cook.

Saturday: I wake up at 4:15 and follow the same movement routine as Monday with a variation on circuit training. After breakfast, the boys and I go to the NC State Farmer’s Market, Trader Joes and Whole Foods. After a family lunch at home, the boys take a nap and I either go for a walk or study. The afternoon is variable depending on family needs.

Sunday: I sleep in! I work most Sunday mornings. After work I swim for 75 minutes and then go for a short walk. We eat dinner together as a family and then do some preparation for the week.

I am doing a lot of extra cooking right now in preparation for the girls birth. October and November are going to be big cooking months as I am still pretty mobile and my belly does not get in the way too much.

See you on Week 23.


bottom of page